How Do You Decide What To Read Next?

If we were having coffee, I would tell you lately I find that after starting a book I am not enjoying it. I am thinking about a book I just started that sounded like a mystery, because of the title. It was described as a page-turner in a review and was on a celebrity’s book club selection list. It turned out to have a disturbing beginning and as I read on it didn’t get better. It didn’t make me want to turn more pages.

I found an article in my inbox, ‘These Memes Make Books More Fun’ by Anna Grace Lee (New York Times), that talks about ‘recommendation charts’ that guide you to books you will like. She included examples of the charts. She mentions a bookseller in Austen, Texas, Mariah Charles, who has created several charts posted on Twitter. Here are a couple of examples.

Lee’s article included a chart that lists books based on their emotional impact like which books are the saddest. Many websites use algorithms to guide you based on books you have read before. I found one that will find books based on my mood.

How have you found books you like?


Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Natalie at Natalie the Explorer.

Featured image ‘Jeune femme lisant dan un jardin’ by Henri Lebasque via wikimedia.

12 thoughts on “How Do You Decide What To Read Next?

  1. msomerville2014

    I often use audio books because I spend so much time in the car; that may change with my recent retirement, Sometimes posts about reading have spurred d my interest to check out a book, if I like an author or one book that an author has written, I will try to get something else by that author. As someone who wants to publish a book or two, I admit I usually use libraries, more than purchasing a book, except for the books I have on my kindle. I have a friend who is an avid reader and I usually will take her recommendation. Sometimes I get into a funk about reading and get too distracted, But as a writer, I try to keep that balance, write only if I am going to read, and read if I am going to write. Thanks, Michele

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Deborah Drucker Post author

      I do pick books from authors I like as well. I am now using the library again because if I don’t like the book at least I did not spend money on it and I want to support the public library. I am willing to experiment more with my book selections from the library.

      Like

      Reply
  2. dawnkinster

    I struggle finding a book. I’m having trouble even reading, have been that way since Covid. I think I’ve read maybe 3 books so far this year, which is far less than my normal # I can’t remember any books I read after I finish, which might be the biggest part of my problem. But when I DO look for a book it’s usually by reviewing my ‘want to read’ list in Goodreads.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Deborah Drucker Post author

      I have had a similar reaction with reading, and I attributed it to these COVID times as well. My memory of books I have read is not as good either. I did go on Goodreads and rated several books so I could get recommendations from that site. I browse book recommendations from the NYT, look at bestseller lists, recommendations from Barnes and Noble, Amazon. The LA County library had lists recommended by their staff. My library here doesn’t have that. I am getting better at reading more now. I have a book list on my library account where I am listing books I want to read that I have found from different sources. The number of books I have read is increasing but I still have trouble focusing at times as well as I used to.

      Like

      Reply
  3. ghostmmnc

    I read a lot, and every day. I probably read and finish a book every two or three days and am always needing something else to read. I re-read a lot of books I already have. Several authors are favorites, so if they have something new I’ll get it. Sometimes a book blogger will mention something interesting, so I’ll try to find it. Sometimes just browsing in a book store can be where I’ll find a good one. I get some on my Kindle, too. Our library is so far from us that I haven’t been in a long time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Deborah Drucker Post author

      You are reading a lot of books. I am reading more each day because I checked out several books from the library and feel I need to finish them by the due date. I decided I had better put the books on a book list and check them out gradually. I think I got a bit carried away. There are authors whose books I find reliably good. Many of them are mystery writers. When it comes to other modern fiction, I haven’t found an author I consistently like lately. There are so many books out there I think I need guidance with my choices because I started a couple of books and decided I did not want to read them.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Julie

    Those tweets are cute. I haven’t heard most of these recommendations. I’ll look into using it for my next read. My next reads lately have been what’s on my TBR because someone have been on my TBR for YEARS. I also like listening to podcasts such as “What should I read next?” and “Moms don’t have time to read books.”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Deborah Drucker Post author

      When you don’t have a lot of time to read it is nice to find books that you really like. I did find a book on one of those charts that I put on my TBR. I have books waiting for me in my house too. Podcasts and audiobooks are great in the car. And when you are tired from work or the demands of being a mom you can relax and listen at home.

      Like

      Reply

Comments

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.